Country Profile

Geography: situated in West and Southern Africa

Population: 15 million (2008 estimate)

Capital: Luanda

Languages: Portuguese (official), Kikongo, Kimbundo, Tchokwe, Umbundo, Mbunda, Kwanyama and others.

Ethnic groups:: Ovimbundo:37%, Kimbundo:25%, Bakongo:13%, Others:25%

Religions: Roman Catholic: 75%, Protestant: 15%, Others: 10%

Head of State: President João Manuel Gonçalves Lourenço

Vice-President: Bornito de Sousa

Type of Government: Democratic Republic

Parliament (National Assembly): 220 Seats (single chamber)

Political system: Multi-party democracy

Main political parties: MPLA, UNITA, PRS, ND, FNLA.

Political / Administrative division: 18 provinces

Bengo, Benguela, Bié, Cabinda, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Kuando Kubango, Kwanza Norte, Kwanza Sul, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, Namibe, Uíje, Zaire

Independence: 11 November 1975 (from Portugal)

National holiday: Independence Day, 11 November

Constitution: 11 November 1975; revised 7 January 1978, 11 August 1980, 6 March 1991, and 26 August 1992

Legal system: Based on Portuguese civil law and customary law; with new laws reflecting Angolan realities and requirements and accommodating political pluralism and increased free market economy.

Currency: Kwanza

GDP per capita: US$2,100 (2008 estimate)

GDP US$17,3 billion (2004)

Main trading partners: United States, China, Taiwan, France, Portugal, South Africa, Japan, Brazil, UK (2004)

Exports: US$14 billion

Imports: US$5 billion

Major exports: Crude oil, diamonds, petroleum products, gas, coffee, sisal, fish and fish products, timber and cotton

Major imports: Machinery and electrical equipment, vehicles and spare parts, medicines, food, textiles

Mineral resources: Petroleum, diamonds, iron ore, phosphates, copper, feldspar, gold, bauxite, uranium